top of page

To those who came before me

My Grandma Loreen's family is from Trier, Germany, and I was able to visit this wonderful city during my study week in March. This is a letter to them :)

To those that came before me:

Today, I strolled through Trier with my friends, just like you may have done some years ago. I passed by this ancient Roman wall and marveled at its age, and I thought about how you may have done the same while walking around this lovely town where you grew up. Did you touch the stones, stunned by how old the structure was and how many things the wall has survived? It remains standing after the wars, hatred, violence, and prejudice, but also witnessed the joy, happiness, and celebration of the world. This wall was there as you walked to school and church and the market, and it was there as I did the same.

I walked on a small road on the way to the Cathedral, and on the way, vendors tried to sell me meat, cheese, postcards, toys, jewelry and more. Did you spend afternoons in the square? Did you bring your kids here to ride on the old carnival rides or look at candy, chocolates, or toys at the little shops? The market probably looked a little different...now, vendors sell trinkets for iPhones, vegan and gluten-free snacks, and kids and adults alike are glued to their phones, texting, taking photos to share on social media, and fretting over which filter to use to enhance their pictures and come up with the best caption to give their posts. What was it like when you lived here? Was it bustling with activity? Or was it a quiet place where people came to sit and relax on a day or afternoon off of work?

Did you attend mass at the Cathedral?

All of these questions came to my mind as I walked around the town that you called home. Today, I felt connected to you as I walked on the cobbled streets of Trier, and I hope that someday I will meet you so I can ask you these questions in person.

With love until we meet,

Elise


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page